Built in 1937, Green Hall was named for RI Governor and US Senator Theodore Francis Green. Since then, it has become symbolic of URI; it is used as the iconic graphic logo of the University and is often used in photographs to represent the campus and its landscape. On the roof of Green Hall sits a beautiful white clock tower, dedicated to the University by the class of 1938. What most students don’t know about this clock tower is that the aesthetic appeal of the exterior is just one part of what makes this structure unique. Within the clock tower, there is a wooden beam with an extensive list of names and dates carved into it by past students, dating back almost 80 years. While there may be current students who would like to add their names to this historic list, it is likely impossible since entrance inside the clock tower is no longer permitted.
Green Hall originally served as home for administration, and has undergone a number of uses before settling in its current role, housing enrollment services and administrative offices. An impressive feature of the building is the main administrators’ hallway, which houses a sizeable collection of classically painted portraits; subjects include President Barlow, for whom Barlow Hall was named, and President Carothers, the namesake of the Robert L. Carothers Library. The portraits were originally located in the library until they were moved to Green Hall in 2003 after its renovation.
At the other end, images of the University’s past decorate the walls. These photographs depict life as a student during a time when Rhody the Ram was a live animal, and when derby hats were still in fashion. This building puts us in touch with the spirit of the University and allows present members of the URI community to tune into the past.